Lost and Found

Here is my first short story from Short Fiction Break as a regular contributing author. You can read more short stories at http://www.shortfictionbreak.com
Like us on Facebook, too!

Short Fiction Break

(Photograph courtesy of Carmelle Tennison)

My eyes strain to make out the pair of shadows hovering above me. Irritated, I squirm in the softness swaddled about my body—a vain attempt to recreate the warmth of a watery world I inhabited just a few months prior. I give up trying to make sense of the blur. So I close my eyes and reminisce about a face breathing life into my soul. My cheeks start to twitch.

“Aw, look,” coos the one who calls herself I’m-Your-Mommy. “The baby’s dreaming!”

A deep voice chimes in. “Of what? The back of eyelids? It’s probably just gas.”

I want to tell them what I see in my sleep, wishing my mouth could do more than produce misinterpreted smiles. Explosions of gurgles and shrieks are all I can manage at the moment. But even with a vocabulary, how does one describe omnipotence composed entirely of light…

View original post 152 more words

About Michelle McGill-Vargas

Michelle hails from Gary, Indiana where she enjoys writing historical fiction, flash fiction, and short stories. Her writings have appeared in "Lutheran Witness", "Splickety Magazine", "The Copperfield Review", and "Typehouse Literary Magazine." She served as vice-president of the Indiana Writers' Consortium. Until the day her historical fiction manuscripts get published, she pays the bills as a special education administrator with a background in deaf education. In October 2018, she will be a contributor to Concordia Publishing House's quarterly devotional series "Portals of Prayer." Visit her blog at www.michellemcgillvargas.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Goal Setting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

